The Hotel Jules César in Arles reopened its doors this June after a major six-month renovation spearheaded by renowned fashion designer and Arles native, Christian Lacroix.
Housed in a former 17th century Carmelite convent that was converted into a hotel in 1928, the hotel has welcomed famous names such as Hemingway, Picasso and the Duke and Duchess of York among other luminaries.
Today, the hotel offers: 52 rooms, including 11 suites; an outdoor heated pool; and a Provençal restaurant with 100 seats in the dining room and 40 seats on the hotel terrace. The hotel spa will open in autumn 2014, which features a jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna, gym and tea room.Playing with the inimitable light of the region and utilizing diverse fabrics and materials, Lacroix captures the Southern France art de vivre. Lacroix states "People who stay at the hotel are not only looking for a second home; they are looking for one that tells a story.” Showcasing the original cloister dating from 1664, Lacroix and the building's architect Olivier Sabran discovered vestiges of a mural detailing the rituals of the nuns and Carmelites.
The lounge was redesigned with chairs reupholstered in colorful fabric, reminiscent of Provence's bright hues. Other updates included: the restoration of the building's period windows, the redesign of the hotel's green areas and renovation of the chapel.
52 rooms: Standard/Superior/Deluxe/ Lacroix Junior Suite
11 themed Suites and Junior Suites: Provençal, Monastic, Lacroix
3pm check-in/12pm check-out
Housekeeping service24-hour reception
Laundry, dry cleaning, ironing service
Lou Marquès restaurant serving Provençal cuisine featuring 100 seats in dining room and 40 seats on the terrace
Breakfast: 7am to 10.30am in dining room/room service
Lunch: 12pm to 1:30pm
Dinner: 7:30pm to 9:30pm24-hour room service
Pool and snack bar open from July to mid-September
Spa (open in Autumn 2014) with jacuzzi, Turkish bath, sauna, gym, tea room
Public parking lot available on site for 20 EUR